Posts Tagged ‘Patterson Hood’

Patterson Hood – Onward Out The Window (Caledonia Lounge 11/4/2009)

Who likes theme posts? Do you like theme posts? Well lucky for you, you’re in the middle of a string of them. This one is simply incredible! Perfect fucking sound, great stories, and very interesting setlist. In fact, this is the first of 3 weekly shows hood is currently performing at The Caledonia Lounge in Athens, GA. This one he billed as “Onward Out The Window (new and used songs stripped down to piano and guitar)”, and that’s exactly what you get. Stripped down familiar songs, and a few new ones. This is really a can’t miss for Patterson fans and Drive-By Truckers fans. Some amazing renditions on here, perfectly augmented by simply an acoustic guitar and piano/organ while Patterson embellishes each song with stories and anecdotes he has become famous for. A really intimate show.

Patterson currently has a new album out called Murding Oscar, and this wednesday at The Caledonia he will be performing his 3rd show, the “rock show” with his backing band The Belvederes. If you are in the area I would make sure not to miss it.
Also don’t forget about the new DBT odds & ends album The Fine Print

Adam’s House Cat – Town Burned Down (Out of Print Pre-DBT album)

Adam’s House Cat was Patterson Hood’s and Mike Cooley’s first band together, pre-DBT circa 1985-1991. This album as yet still unreleased was recorded in Muscle Shoals, Alabama in 1990. It features early versions of “Lookout Mountain” & “Nine Bullets” and a slew of other kickass songs. One of my favorites off this is “Runaway Train”. It nice to hear some early work of Patterson & Cooley….and this album is a nice glimpse of the genius work that was to come.

This is now available for streaming here

Adam’s House Cat (AKA Drive-By Truckers) – Live at Nuci’s Space December 1, 2006

Adam’s House Cat was the VERY early incarnation of Drive-By Truckers which included current DBT members Patterson Hood, & Mike Cooley. They reunited for this show which was a benefit for Sabina Hartley-Burke and this is probably the only place to hear these songs unless you have one of the original demo tapes from back in ‘89.
This is a nice little acoustic set which features Hood, Cooley, & DBT drummer Brad Morgan. Rumor has it that the as yet unreleased Adam’s House Cat album from 1990 may see the light of day this year. We can only hope. Until then if you are like me and crave more DBT this will have to tide you over. There are a couple of killer Patterson songs on here like “Troubled Waters”, “Runaway Train”, and “6 o’clock Train”. Also some equally killer Cooley songs like “Three on the Tree”, and a stripped down version of “Women Without Whiskey”. But the real prize here is the stories which give a great insight into the beginnings of Drive-By Truckers.

Disc One:
01) Intro
02) Cemeteries
03) Cancelling Dates
04) Troubled Waters
05) 6 O’Clock Train
06) Buttholeville
07) Three On The Tree
08) Elvis Presley Stole My Car
09) Picture Of Elvis Cured My Cancer
10) Uncle Frank
11) Runaway Train

Disc Two:
01) Child Abuse
02) Love Really Sucks
03) One Of These Days
04) Long Time Ago
05) Women Without Whiskey
06) Lookout Mountain
07) E:) Airplane Screams
08) Tornadoes
09) Shut Up And Get On The Plane

Find More Info Here & Here


Patterson Hood – Eighteen

Word is there’s a new Patterson Hood album coming out this year as well. Can’t wait for that as his last solo album was excellent. Here is a very well done clip of him performing Alice Cooper’s “Eighteen”.