Truesounds – Summer ‘10

By popular demand, the summer installment of the Truesounds seasonal sampler. This being such a hot summer it’s heavy on the rock and bluesy type songs. Lot of new and notables on this one (that’s the point of this thing right), but also some old favorites with new albums like Alejandro Escovedo and Fred Eaglesmith. Everything off this one is from a 2010 release. Enjoy.

  1. Guthrie Kennard – Cross That Line
  2. From the album Matchbox. Great f’n song, and one of my best discoveries this year

  3. Alejandro Escovedo – This Bed Is Getting Crowded
  4. From the album Street Songs of Love. Probably his most rocking album to date. Songs co-wrote with Chuck Prophet and Chuck’s playing is all over the thing

  5. Fred Eaglesmith – I Would
  6. From the album Cha-Cha-Cha. Fred continues to add unique twists to his music. Love this psuedo-soul type of sound on this one

  7. Peter Case – Dig What You’re Putting Down
  8. From the album Wig! A great super bluesy album that kicks all kinds of ass

  9. I Can Lick Any Sonofabitch In the House – Swear To God
  10. From the album Sounds of Dying. This album was recorded in 2004 but never released, read the story here.

  11. Deer Tick – When She Comes Home
  12. From the album Black Dirt Sessions. I find Deer Tick hard to peg and I’m especially cold on this album…but this song is killer

  13. Glossary – Through the Screen Door
  14. From the album Feral Fire. You guys know how I feel about this album. Love this song

  15. Otis Gibbs – Kansas City
  16. From the album Joe Hill’s Ashes. I’m really digging the hell out of this album, I should probably do a full review of it for you guys

  17. Mic Harrison and The High Score – I’m Still Lost
  18. From the album Great Commotion. Always been a big fan of Mic, love this song

  19. Magnolia Mountain – Redbird Green
  20. From the album Redbird Green. Great title track from Cincinnati’s finest

  21. J. Shogren – Younger
  22. From the album Birds, Bones and Muscle.

  23. Stone River Boys – Think I’m Gonna Make It
  24. From the album Love On The Dial. From the ashes of The Hacienda Brothers rise The Stone River Boys who are keeping the country soul flame burning

  25. Jim Lauderdale – Winnona
  26. From the album Patchwork River. Love this burner off Jim’s latest

  27. Kevin Welch – Come a Rain
  28. From the album A Patch of Blue Sky. Longtime Kieran Kane collaborator releases his own album this year

  29. Shinyribs – Country Cool
  30. From the album Well After Awhile. Gourds frontman Kevin Russell releases his side project. Horrible cover art, but Gourds fans will love it. (that sounded kind of dickish…what I mean is it sounds like a Gourds album, so if you like them…you will like this)

  31. Danny Barnes – Caveman
  32. From the album Pizza Box. Former frontman of The Bad Livers and famed Austin sideman takes his banjo playing to new levels on this one

  33. Red Molly – Troubled Mind
  34. From the album James. This song reminds me of Deadwood

  35. Pieta Brown – Wishes Falling Through the Rain
  36. From the album One and All. Pieta will be touring with John Prine this fall, hope she gains a lot of new fans from that exposure.

  37. Isobel Campbell and Mark Lanegan – You Won’t Let Me Down Again
  38. From the album Hawk. Two legends from the 90s, Isobel from Belle and Sebastian, and Mark from Screaming Trees team up for another folky album. Really love the hell out of this song.

  39. Mark Erelli – Hemlock Grove
  40. From the album Little Vigils. Such a haunting and beautiful song

  41. Oblio’s Arrow – End of the Burning Moon
  42. From the album Plain Old American Mess. New group out of Denver creating some interesting music

  43. Pokey LaFarge and the South City Three – Bag of Bones
  44. From the album Riverboat Soul. This album has been kicking my ass for the last couple days. Reminds me a lot of Jimbo Mathus…and I LOVE Jimbo Mathus so….

Download Truesounds – Summer ‘10 here
  • Oblio's Arrow

    August 10th, 2010


    Thanks for including us on your seasonal sampler! We’re glad to be a part of your summer. Please explore the rest of Plain Old American Mess, it has many songs that just might extend a summer that’s half dead on the kitchen table.

  • Frank

    August 11th, 2010


    Thanks a lot. Your last compilation was great.

  • Brad

    August 11th, 2010


    Awesome! This just made my day. No time to download it now, but I can’t wait to get to it tomorrow.

  • Martin Luther Presley

    August 11th, 2010


    YAY! A new compilation! Lots of unfamiliar names, so there’s a lot of new music to explore – good!
    And re: OTIS GIBBS – I absolutely love this guy, Grandpa Walked A Picketline and Joe Hill’s Ashes are among my favorite albums of the last years. He’s brilliant – and a cool dude. I would love to read a review here!

  • Martin Luther Presley

    August 11th, 2010


    Oh, and btw: Mark Lanegan was in Screaming Trees and Mark Arm in Mudhoney!

    • Truersound

      August 11th, 2010


      DOH! I fixed it, thanks for the correction.

  • Shango

    August 11th, 2010


    I’ve been downloading every single compilation you made for two years now and I loved them all – beside the great mixtapes as such I discovered lot’s of new artists for which I can’t thank enough!

    Thanks again for the work!

  • Pewjumper

    August 11th, 2010


    Thanks for all the work you put into your excellent blog. Great compilations — have discovered new artists because of your efforts. Anybody who loves the Backsliders and SCOTS is A-OK.

  • danny

    August 13th, 2010


    where do all of the random pictures come from?

  • bigredspirit

    August 14th, 2010


    Damn! I had the chance to see Peter Case at Waterloo Records here in Austin recently, but decided to pass because I didn’t know who he was.

    Glad to see Danny Barnes’ Caveman. I’m guessing you got the album and are going to do a review soon.

    To end on an unrelated note: you have to post Bob Dylan’s 6 minute solo harmonica version of Long John. I know most people haven’t seen anything of BD playing harp solo, and I know we probably won’t have a chance of hearing him do that before he leaves us, considering he won’t even play his hits. Besides it’s awesome and original! It comes from his Minnesota Hotel Tape from 1961. I uploaded it to MediaFire, here is the link:

  • Shuggie

    August 27th, 2010


    Once again thank you ATS for your compilations. A treat to look forward to as always.
    Blog on.

  • No trackbacks yet

Leave a Comment

* are Required fields